Shreyas Iyer Joins Team India Ahead Of 4th T20I, Looks In Good Touch In Nets

Shreyas Iyer enjoyed a fine outing in the recently-concluded ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023. Playing his first-ever ODI World Cup, the right-handed batsman played a key role in India’s dominating run in the competition which ended with a heartbreaking defeat against Australia in the final.

The tournament did not start on the best of notes for the Mumbai star as he was dismissed for a duck against Australia in Chennai. In the next four games, he managed to score one fifty and faced severe criticism from several quarters. There were calls from all around to drop Shreyas Iyer after he failed to perform in crunch situations.

However, the Kolkata Knight Riders star turned things around in style by coming up with some sensational displays in the second half of the World Cup. In the last three league games, he scored 82 off 56 balls against Sri Lanka, 77 against South Africa, and 128* off 94 balls against the Netherlands before smashing 105 off just 70 balls against New Zealand in the semifinal.

Shreyas Iyer joins Team India:

The World Cup, however, ended on a heartbreaking note for Shreyas Iyer and his India teammates. In the final, Australia stunned India by 6 wickets to clinch their sixth World Cup title. The middle-order batsman managed to score just 4 runs in the title decider.

After the World Cup final, he will finally return to action on Friday (December 1) when Team India takes on Australia in the fourth match of the ongoing five-match T20I series. The star batsman was rested for the first three games of the series. He joined the team in Raipur on Thursday (November 30). The BCCI posted a clip of his net session and the batsman looked in fine touch.

Shreyas Iyer will also replace Ruturaj Gaikwad as the vice-captain of the side. India are currently leading the series 2-1 and will be keen to wrap up the series by winning the fourth game.

India Squad for last two T20Is:

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan(w), Suryakumar Yadav(c), Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Deepak Chahar, Shreyas Iyer, Jitesh Sharma, Mukesh Kumar, Washington Sundar, Shivam Dube

#Shreyas #Iyer #Joins #Team #India #Ahead #4th #T20I #Good #Touch #Nets

Scroll to Top