Ruturaj Gaikwad Becomes First Indian Batter To Slam T20I Ton Against Australia

Indian batter Ruturaj Gaikwad created history in the  T20 Internationals. He became the first player from his country to slam a century against Australia in the shortest format of the game.

Ruturaj Gaikwad achieved the feat in the ongoing third T20I between India and Australia. The match is taking place at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati and the opening batter set the stage on fire in the virtual series decider.

Ruturaj Gaikwad opened the innings for India, who were asked to bat first. The batter started slowly as wickets were felling around him. He played as second fiddle to Suryakumar Yadav (39) but once the skipper was back, he unleashed himself.

Ruturaj Gaikwad at one stage was batting with the strike rate of 100 and was batting at run a ball 21. However, after that, he took an attack to the Australian bowlers and smashed them all over the park. He brought up his fifty in 32 balls and after that, it was different Gaikwad.

Ruturaj Gaikwad tried to hit almost every ball out of the park. He brought his century in 52 balls and made sure his side ended up with a big total on the board. He ended with an inning of 123 runs off 57 balls. The right-hander batted with a strike rate of over 212 and slammed 13 fours and 7 sixes in his innings.

After scoring 22 runs in 22 balls, he scored his next 101 runs in just 35 balls. He had a strike rate of 289 in his last 35 balls. Ruturaj Gaikwad’s innings powered the team to a gigantic total of 222 runs. This was the third consecutive time India slammed 200 runs in the series.

IND vs AUS: Ruturaj Gaikwad slams second highest individual scores for India in T20Is

After his knock, Ruturaj Gaikwad also slammed second second-highest individual score for India in T20Is. He surpassed Virat Kohli (122*), Rohit Sharma (118) and Suryakumar Yadav (117). The opening batter now has only Shubman Gill (126*) ahead of him on the list.

Highest individual scores for India in T20Is

126* – Shubman Gill vs NZ, Ahmedabad, 2023
123* – Ruturaj Gaikwad vs AUS, Guwahati, 2023
122* – Virat Kohli vs AFG, Dubai, 2021
118 – Rohit Sharma vs SL, Indore, 2023
117 – Suryakumar Yadav vs ENG, Nottingham, 2022

#Ruturaj #Gaikwad #Indian #Batter #Slam #T20I #Ton #Australia

Scroll to Top