Rohit Sharma Or Hardik Pandya? AB de Villiers Picks Mumbai Indians Captain For IPL 2024

Hardik Pandya’s sensational return to Mumbai Indians has sparked a huge debate about the team’s captain for the next season of the Indian Premier League (IPL), a topic that seemed insignificant just a few days ago.

Rohit Sharma looked set to lead the team once again but many believe that he might not continue as the captain in IPL 2024. There are murmurs that one of the most important conditions that persuaded Hardik Pandya to return to Mumbai Indians was the assurance of being handed the captaincy reins. He has returned to the Mumbai-based outfit after spending two highly successful seasons as the captain of Gujarat Titans.

In 2022, Hardik Pandya led Gujarat Titans to the IPL title in his maiden season as a captain and followed it up by leading the team to a runners-up finish this year. His successful stint as captain has coincided with Rohit Sharma’s struggles as captain in IPL. Mumbai Indians failed to progress to the playoffs in 2021 and 2022 before managing to do it this year although they could not make it to the final.

Rohit Sharma or Hardik Pandya?

While only time will tell who leads Mumbai Indians in IPL 2024, former South Africa captain AB de Villiers believes Rohit Sharma will be in charge. Speaking on his YouTube channel, the legendary cricketer stated that while Rohit Sharma will still be the captain, Hardik Pandya will be second in command.

“I do think Rohit Sharma will still be the captain, but maybe there’s an injury; you never know what happens, and then they will always have the backup of Hardik Pandya, who can take over the reins. We know what he is capable of as a captain,” said AB de Villiers.

YouTube video


Mumbai Indians Retained Players

Rohit Sharma (c), Dewald Brevis, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, N. Tilak Varma, Tim David, Vishnu Vinod, Arjun Tendulkar, Shams Mulani, Nehal Wadhera, Jasprit Bumrah, Kumar Kartikeya, Piyush Chawla, Akash Madhwal, Jason Behrendorff, Romario Shepherd (from LSG), Hardik Pandya (from GT).

Mumbai Indians Released Players

Mohd. Arshad Khan, Ramandeep Singh, Hrithik Shokeen, Raghav Goyal, Jofra Archer, Tristan Stubbs, Duan Jansen, Jhye Richardson, Riley Meredith, Chris Jordan, Sandeep Warrier.

#Rohit #Sharma #Hardik #Pandya #Villiers #Picks #Mumbai #Indians #Captain #IPL

Scroll to Top