PCB Announces New Categories For Players, Check Babar Azam’s New Category

The Pakistan Cricket Board, on Friday (November 10), announced the list of retained players ahead of the draft for the next season of the Pakistan Super League (PSL). The PCB also announced that the draft for PSL 2024 is tentatively scheduled to take place in mid December.

A total of six teams will be participating in the competition. While there were reports stating that the PCB was keen on increasing the number of teams ahead of the upcoming edition, the board has decided against it for the time being. With not much time left in the draft, the teams have announced their retentions along with their new categories.

PSL 2024: Players and their categories:

Pakistan stars Iftikhar Ahmed and Naseem Shah, who ply their trades for Quetta Gladiators, have been upgraded from diamond to platinum. On the other hand, wicketkeeper-batsman Sarfraz Ahmed has been promoted from gold to diamond.

Peshawar Zalmi’s Mohammad Haris has been moved to diamond from gold. Multan Sultans’ emerging pacers from last year Abbas Afridi and Ihsanullah have been moved to the gold category. Islamabad United duo Azam Khan and Faheem Ashraf have been transferred to diamond category from gold category while Lahore Qalandars’ Kamran Ghulam and Zaman Khan have been handed the gold contract from silver and emerging, respectively.

At the same time, a number of players have been demoted in the categories too. The players who have been demoted are Mohammad Nawaz (Quetta, Platinum to Diamond), Mohammad Hasnain (Quetta, Diamond to Gold), Haider Ali (Karachi, Platinum to Gold) and Asif Ali (Islamabad, Platinum to Diamond). The PCB has also announced that players who have featured for Pakistan in international cricket should not be placed below the gold category. The next edition of the PSL is tentatively scheduled for 8 February to 24 March 2024.

Local category player renewals (team-wise):

Islamabad United: Shadab Khan (Platinum), Asif Ali, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Hasan Ali, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf (all Diamond), Sohaib Maqsood, Abrar Ahmed, Rumman Raees, Zafar Gohar, Mubasir Khan (all Gold), Zeeshan Zamir (Silver), Hassan Nawaz (Emerging)

Karachi Kings: Imad Wasim (Platinum), Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Amir (both Diamond), Haider Ali, Aamir Yamin, Sharjeel Khan, Mir Hamza, Tayyab Tahir, Musa Khan, Qasim Akram (all Gold), Mohammad Ikhlaq, Mohammad Umar, Akif Javed (all Silver), Irfan Khan Niazi, Faisal Akram (both Emerging)

Lahore Qalandars: Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, Fakhar Zaman (all Platinum), Hussain Talat, Abdullah Shafique, Kamran Ghulam, Mirza Tahir Baig, Zaman Khan (all Gold), Dilbar Hussain, Ahmed Daniyal, Ahsan Bhatti, Jalat Khan (all Silver), Shawaiz Irfan (Emerging)

Multan Sultans: Mohammad Rizwan (Platinum), Shan Masood, Khushdil Shah, Usama Mir (all Diamond), Abbas Afridi, Ihsanullah, Arafat Minhas, Shahnawaz Dahani, Anwar Ali (all Gold), Sameen Gul, Sarwar Afridi, Ammad Butt, Mohammad Ilyas (all Silver)

Peshawar Zalmi: Babar Azam (Platinum), Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Haris, Saim Ayub (all Diamond), Danish Aziz, Arshad Iqbal, Aamer Jamal, Salman Irshad, Usman Qadir, Harris Sohail, Sufyan Muqeem (all Gold), Khurram Shahzad (Silver), Haseebullah, Saad Masood (both Emerging)

Quetta Gladiators: Naseem Shah, Iftikhar Ahmed (both Platinum), Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Hafeez, Sarfaraz Ahmed (all Diamond), Mohammad Hasnain, Ahsan Ali, Umar Akmal, Omair Bin Yousuf, Saud Shakeel (all Gold), Bismillah Khan, Umaid Asif, Mohammad Zahid, Arshadullah (all Silver), Abdul Wahid Bangalzai, Aimal Khan, Yasir Khan, Khawaja Mohammad Nafay (all Emerging)


#PCB #Announces #Categories #Players #Check #Babar #Azams #Category

Scroll to Top